Assemblymember Wieckowski Commemorates APA Heritage Month


FREMONT — Assemblymember Bob Wieckowski (D-Fremont) announced Wednesday that he is commemorating Asian Pacific American Heritage month and will hold the API Heritage Leadership Awards Ceremony.

He will honor local community leaders and recognize their important contributions to the 20th Assembly District at the ceremony.

“I am proud to represent one of the most diverse areas in the state of California and celebrate Asian Pacific American Heritage Month,” said Wieckowski. “We must recognize the rich diversity of the API community and the many contributions the community has made to California and the nation.”

The ceremony will be held on Friday, May 13, at 12 noon at the Olive Hyde Center, 123 Washington Blvd. in Fremont. The event is free and open to the public; however, space is limited. To attend, call the district office at (510) 440-9030.

The 2011 honorees are:

Tim V. Tran, president of Citizens for Better Community

Dr. Sarb Hundal, ophthalmologist and community leader

Manny Fernandez, Union Sanitary District board member

Demetrio Nitafan, CEO of Innovation Research Institute

Dr. Raj Salwan, Fremont city planning commissioner

Ivy Wu, Fremont Unified School District board member

Dr. Albert Wang, chair of Asian Pacific Islander Public Affairs Association, Bay Area Chapter

Anna Wang, co-founder and vice president of programs for Friends of Children with Special Needs

Henry Yin, member of California Commission for Economic Development

Debra Watanuki, president of Fremont Education Foundation

The official designation of May as Asian Pacific American Heritage Month was signed into law in 1992.

California has become the beneficiary of many immigrants from Southeast Asia, Vietnam, Taiwan, and Korea. These minorities have followed the waves of other immigrants in previous generations from China, Japan, the Philippines, and the Pacific Islands.

Wieckowski was elected in November 2010 to represent the 20th Assembly District, which includes all of Fremont, Union City, Newark and Milpitas, and parts of Castro Valley, Hayward and Pleasanton.


Leave A Reply